Quiz: What Do You Know About the Nobel Prize in Medicine Laureates?

Veronique Duqueroy


October 09, 2014

Of 207 laureates awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 11 have been women. The first was Gerty Theresa Cori (née Radnitz), in 1947; she was awarded the prize jointly with her husband for explaining the catalytic conversion process of glycogen. It took 30 years before another woman was awarded a prize in that field: Rosalyn Yalow, for the development of radioimmunoassays of peptide hormones. No woman was awarded the Medicine prize since 2009. May-Britt Moser, co-recipient of the 2014 Nobel Prize in Medicine, is then the eleventh.


Comments on Medscape are moderated and should be professional in tone and on topic. You must declare any conflicts of interest related to your comments and responses. Please see our Commenting Guide for further information. We reserve the right to remove posts at our sole discretion.