ICD-10 Coding for Ophthalmology

A New Chapter for Eyes

Betsy Nicoletti, MS


February 21, 2014

In This Article

Glaucoma Codes

Codes for glaucoma in ICD-10 reflect changes from ICD-9: in particular, the addition of a seventh character for reporting the stage of glaucoma, in place of an additional diagnosis code. First, the type is selected from the following:

Glaucoma in diseases elsewhere classified;

Glaucoma suspect (the subcategories found in ICD-9 under "borderline glaucoma" are found here);


Anatomical narrow angle (primary angle closure suspect);

Low tension;

Primary angle closure;

Secondary glaucoma due to drugs, eye inflammation, trauma, or other disorders;

Other specified type; or

Unspecified type.

Identify the eye as right, left, bilateral, or unspecified. Finally, the seventh character indicates the stage:

0 -- unspecified;

1 -- mild;

2 -- moderate;

3 -- severe; or

4 -- indeterminate.

Staging is not required in all glaucoma coding, but when it is, it is indicated under the category code.

With the addition of laterality and staging, the sheer number of glaucoma codes explodes in ICD-10. If a patient has different types of glaucoma in each eye or if the disease is at different stages in each eye, 2 codes are assigned (1 for each eye), using the correct code to indicate laterality and stage.


Comments on Medscape are moderated and should be professional in tone and on topic. You must declare any conflicts of interest related to your comments and responses. Please see our Commenting Guide for further information. We reserve the right to remove posts at our sole discretion.
Post as: