Pauline Anderson

December 10, 2013

WASHINGTON, DC — Elson So, MD, professor, neurology, and director, Section of Electroencephalography, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine, Rochester, Minnesota, is the new president of the American Epilepsy Society (AES).

Dr. So was elected during the 67th Annual Meeting of the AES and takes over from Jacqueline A. French, MD, professor, New York University Comprehensive Epilepsy Center, New York.

Dr. So serves on the editorial boards of the journals Epilepsia, Epilepsy Research, and Journal of Clinical Neurophysiology. He has served on the Board of Directors of the AES, the Council of the American Clinical Neurophysiology Society, and the Epilepsy Foundation (EF).

He was a member of the Governance Committee and Conflict of Interest Committee of the AES Board of Directors and recently served as first vice president of the AES Board. He is a past chair of the Section of Clinical Neurophysiology of the American Academy of Neurology.

Past AES president Dr. Jacqueline French passes the gavel to new president Dr. Elson So. Courtesy of Martin Allred

Dr. So has directed educational courses, symposia, and plenary sessions at the American Academy of Neurology, AES, American Clinical Neurophysiology Society, and Organization for Human Brain Mapping. He co-chaired the joint AES-EF SUDEP (sudden unexpected death in epilepsy) Task Force and the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke Workshop on SUDEP .

His research interests are in advanced single-photon emission computed tomography; SUDEP; and the natural history, treatment outcomes, and electroclinical aspects of intractable epilepsy. He is a named inventor of the Office of Intellectual Property of the Mayo Clinic.


Comments on Medscape are moderated and should be professional in tone and on topic. You must declare any conflicts of interest related to your comments and responses. Please see our Commenting Guide for further information. We reserve the right to remove posts at our sole discretion.