Allison Shelley

December 08, 2011

December 8, 2011 (Baltimore, Maryland) — The American Epilepsy Society has chosen a new president: Frances Jensen, MD, from Harvard Medical School in Boston, Massachusetts.

A professor of neurology, Dr. Jensen is director of translational neuroscience and director of epilepsy research at Children's Hospital in Boston. She is stepping into the office previously held by John Pellock, MD, from Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine in Richmond, whose term has expired.

Dr. Frances Jensen

The 3000-member society is the world's largest organization of specialists dedicated to the prevention, treatment, and cure of epilepsy.

Dr. Jensen is an internationally recognized expert in research to identify age-specific mechanisms of brain injury at the cellular level. She is leading a multicenter clinical trial that is evaluating the use of a new US Food and Drug Administration–approved investigational drug as novel therapy for neonatal seizures.

Dr. Jensen's achievements in the field have been recognized with many awards and honors, including the National Institutes of Health Director's Pioneer Award and an American Epilepsy Society basic science research award.

Dr. Jensen maintains an active interest in child health and is an advocate for awareness of adolescent brain development and the unique strengths and vulnerabilities of the adolescent brain.

She will be joined by first vice president Jacqueline French, MD, from the New York University Langone Medical Center, New York City.

New Vice Presidents

Dr. French is director of translational research and clinical trials and director of the multicenter Epilepsy Study Consortium.

She has been active in creating practice guidelines and has received an American Epilepsy Society service award.

The incoming officers will work with the new second vice president, Elson So, MD, who is an epilepsy neurophysiologist and is professor of neurology at the Mayo Medical School in Rochester, Minnesota.

Dr. So is a leading expert on morbidity and mortality. He was cochair of the 2008 National Institutes of Health–sponsored workshop on sudden unexpected death in epilepsy (SUDEP), as well as the joint American Epilepsy Society and Epilepsy Foundation task force on SUDEP.

The 1-year term for the officers is effective immediately.

American Epilepsy Society (AES) 65th Annual Meeting. Presented December 5, 2011.


Comments on Medscape are moderated and should be professional in tone and on topic. You must declare any conflicts of interest related to your comments and responses. Please see our Commenting Guide for further information. We reserve the right to remove posts at our sole discretion.