Follow Up of Abnormal Clinical and Imaging Findings of the Breast: Five Self-Study Modules for Primary Care Clinicians



The Program Services Branch, Division of Cancer Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC); the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG); and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) extend their sincere thanks to those who generously gave their time and expertise for this professional development course, contributing to its design, content, and development.

Core Planning Group: The individuals listed below have provided extensive time and insights to guide the course development.

Judy A. Hannan, RN, MPH
Herschel Lawson, MD, FACOG
Susan J. Lockhart, PhD, MPH, BA

Mary S. Dolan, MD, FACOG
Mary F. Mitchell, BA

Helen J. Barr, MD
Joseph M. Kaczmarczyk, DO, MPH

Medscape: Medscape has provided professional development technology to promote interactive learning, information on the evolving professional development needs of primary care providers, editorial services, and a Web-based platform for wide distribution of the course.
Darlene Foschini-Field, PhD, RNC, Contributing Editor
Peggy Keen, PhD, Editorial Director, Women's Health, Medscape
Ursula K. Snyder, PhD, Contributing Editor

PRO-Health Inc.: Nancy Dunn, RN, MS, in collaboration with many breast cancer experts, was the lead writer for the course. Nancy contributed a thorough review of the initial content and redesign based on reviewer input as well as research in current clinical practice.

Reviewers: The curriculum would not have been developed without the assistance of many individuals and organizations. CDC works currently with 68 National Breast and Cervical Cancer Early Detection Programs that provided a framework for preparing professional development materials. CDC would like to gratefully acknowledge the Professional Education Unit, Cancer Detection Section, California Department of Health Services, and their breast experts for generously sharing their vast knowledge, and exceptional breast cancer algorithms and other training materials. Their work has greatly enhanced the course for use by professionals nationwide.

CDC also wishes to thank many experts from a variety of work groups, studies, and data analysis projects who shared and released documents useful to course development. CDC also convened a national work group of expert reviewers for the final curriculum. Many work group members participated in 2 separate versions of the self-study course, the original and the current release.

Current Edition

Special thanks need to be extended to the following people for their continuous support and active involvement with the development of the current curriculum:

"The California Breast Expert Workgroup," 2005, Cancer Detection Section, California Department of Health Services
Lawrence Bassett, MD, University of California, Los Angeles
Cathy Cole, RNC, NP, Private Consultant
Cathy Coleman, RN, OCN, CPHQ, Breast Center Consultant, California
Barbara Florentine, MD, Henry Mayo Newhall Hospital, California
William Goodson, III, MD Senior Clinical Research Scientist, California Pacific Medical Center Research Institute
Lydia Howell, MD, University of California, Davis
Candace Moorman, MPH, California Department of Health Services, California
Elizabeth Steiner, MD, Oregon Health Sciences University, Oregon


Patricia Carney,* PhD, Associate Professor of Community and Family Medicine, Dartmouth Medical School, Hanover, New Hampshire

Laurie L. Fajardo,* MD, Professor and Chair, Department of Radiology, University of Iowa, Iowa City

Marjie Harbrecht, MD, Medical/Executive Director, Colorado Clinical Guidelines Collaborative, Lakewood, Colorado

Carla J. Herman,* MD, MPH, Professor, Department of Internal Medicine, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque; Chief, Division of Geriatrics, Senior Health Center, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Linda L. Humphrey, MD, MPH, Associate Professor of Medicine, Public Health and Preventive Medicine, Oregon Health Sciences University, Portland, Oregon; Staff Physician, Portland VA Medical Center, Portland, Oregon

Julia V. Johnson, MD, FACOG, Professor, Ob/Gyn; Vice Chair, Gynecology; Director, Division of Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility, The University of Vermont College of Medicine, Burlington, Vermont

Nancy Lee, MD, Former Director, Division of Cancer Prevention and Control, CDC, Georgia

Rebecca Lehman, MPAS, PA-C, Private Practice

Patricia Z. Lund, EdD, RN, Professor; Graduate Nursing Coordinator, Western Connecticut State University, Danbury, Connecticut

Linda A. Mayne, PhD, Associate Professor, East Carolina University, Greenville, North Carolina

Barbara Monsees, MD, Professor, Radiology, Division of Diagnostic Radiology; Chief, Breast Imaging Section, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, Missouri

Kevin Oeffinger, MD, Full Member and Attending, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NY; Medical Director, MSKCC Program for Adult Survivors of Pediatric Cancer, Memorial Sloan-Kettering

Martin Olsen, MD, FACOG, Professor; Chair, Obstetrics and Gynecology, James H. Quillen College of Medicine, East Tennessee State University, Johnson City, Tennessee

Janet R. Osuch, MD, MS, Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan*

Sophia Ouhilal, MD, FACOG, Fellow, Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, Lebanon, New Hampshire

Elba L. Saavedra, BA, MS, PhD, Assistant Professor for Research and Health Education, College of Education, University of New Mexico, PPD-Health Education Program; Albuquerque, New Mexico; Director, Comadre a Comadre, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Stephen F. Sener, MD, Professor of Surgery, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, Evanston, Illinois; Vice-Chairman, Department of Surgery, Evanston Northwestern Healthcare, Evanston, Illinois

Lawrence D. Wagman, MD, Professor and Chief Emeritus, Division of Surgery; Staff Physician, Division of Surgery, City of Hope National Medical Center, Duarte, California

Pamela A. Wilcox, BSN, MBA, Assistant Executive Director, American College of Radiology, Reston, Virginia

Previous Edition:
Harold P. Freeman, MD, Harlem Hospital, New York
Elmer E. Huerta, MD, The Washington Cancer Institute, Washington, DC
Michael Linver, MD, X-ray Associates, New Mexico
Sylvia M. Ramos, MD, University of New Mexico
Wendy Rubenstein, MD, PhD, FACMG, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, Illinois
Mary Ann Van Duyn, PhD, MPH, National Institutes of Health, Maryland

(*) Participated in both the first and second edition of the course.