Which histologic findings are characteristic of pediatric non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL)?

Updated: Jun 14, 2018
  • Author: J Martin Johnston, MD; Chief Editor: Max J Coppes, MD, PhD, MBA  more...
  • Print

Several classification systems for non-Hodgkin lymphoma are available. Examples are the Kiel classification system and the NCI Working Formulation. At present, the Revised European-American Lymphoma (REAL) classification system is gaining acceptance as the criterion standard for classifying adult non-Hodgkin lymphoma. For classifying childhood non-Hodgkin lymphoma, this system is overly complicated because it includes numerous diagnoses that are rarely or never observed in children.

Adult non-Hodgkin lymphomas are characterized as low, intermediate, or high grade, and they can have a diffuse or nodular appearance. In contrast, childhood non-Hodgkin lymphomas are almost always high grade and diffuse. In general, they can be divided into 3 major classes, or even 4 classes if one differentiates the 2 most common types of large cell lymphomas (LCLs), B-cell and T-cell LCLs. The 3 major classes—lymphoblastic lymphomas, small noncleaved cell lymphomas (SNCCLs), and LCLs—are described below.

For a particular tumor, achieving agreement among pathologists is sometimes difficult. However, synthesis of the histologic, immunohistochemical, cytogenetic, and clinical and/or anatomic data almost always results in a clear diagnosis.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!