What is the WHO classification system of pediatric acute myelocytic leukemia (AML)?

Updated: Sep 12, 2017
  • Author: Mark E Weinblatt, MD; Chief Editor: Jennifer Reikes Willert, MD  more...
  • Print

The World Health Organization (WHO) has classified acute myeloid leukemias into groups, although this classification is rarely used in pediatrics. However, for general purposes, note the following:

  • Acute myeloid leukemia with characteristic cytogenetic translocations (eg, promyelocytic leukemia with typical t[15;17])

  • Acute myeloid leukemia with multilineage dysplasia

  • Acute myeloid leukemia and myelodysplasia syndromes secondary to therapy (eg, those following alkylating agents)

  • Acute myeloid leukemia not otherwise categorized (eg, erythroid leukemias, monocytic leukemias)

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!