What is the French-American-British classification system of pediatric acute myelocytic leukemia (AML)?

Updated: Sep 12, 2017
  • Author: Mark E Weinblatt, MD; Chief Editor: Jennifer Reikes Willert, MD  more...
  • Print

Acute myeloid leukemia can be divided into subtypes on the basis of marrow findings. Some of these subtypes have characteristic clinical pictures. The French-American-British classification system recognizes 7 primary types of acute myeloid leukemia (M1-M7), which can usually be established by morphology and additional marrow studies.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!