How is pediatric acute myelocytic leukemia (AML) classified?

Updated: Sep 12, 2017
  • Author: Mark E Weinblatt, MD; Chief Editor: Jennifer Reikes Willert, MD  more...
  • Print

AML can be divided into subtypes on the basis of marrow findings. The French-American-British classification system recognizes 7 primary types of AML (M1-M7), which can usually be established by morphology and additional marrow studies.

The World Health Organization (WHO) classifies AML into groups as follows (rarely used in pediatrics):

  • AML with characteristic cytogenetic translocations

  • AML with multilineage dysplasia

  • AML and myelodysplasia syndromes secondary to therapy

  • AML not otherwise categorized

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!