What are the Sarnat clinical stages of hypoxic-ischemic encephalopathy (HIE)?

Updated: Jul 18, 2018
  • Author: Santina A Zanelli, MD; Chief Editor: Dharmendra J Nimavat, MD, FAAP  more...
  • Print

The staging system proposed by Sarnat and Sarnat in 1976 is often useful in classifying the degree of encephalopathy. [37]  Stages I, II, and III correlate with the descriptions of mild, moderate, and severe encephalopathy described above.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!