How are the serotypes of the cholera pathogen classified?

Updated: Feb 03, 2021
  • Author: Sajeev Handa, MBBCh, BAO, LRCSI, LRCPI; Chief Editor: Russell W Steele, MD  more...
  • Print

Currently, the El Tor biotype of V cholerae O1 is the predominant cholera pathogen. Organisms in both the classical and the El Tor biotypes are subdivided into serotypes according to the structure of the O antigen, as follows:

  • Serotype Inaba - O antigens A and C

  • Serotype Ogawa - O antigens A and B

  • Serotype Hikojima - O antigens A, B, and C

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!