What are the clinical stages of pediatric appendicitis?

Updated: Oct 25, 2018
  • Author: Adam C Alder, MD; Chief Editor: Carmen Cuffari, MD  more...
  • Print

The clinical staging of appendicitis has important implications in the postoperative treatment of the child. Although somewhat subjective at the time of surgery, appendicitis may be divided into 3 broad categories: acute (nongangrenous), suppurative or gangrenous (nonperforated), and perforated. Perforated appendicitis can be divided further into cases with diffuse or with localized peritonitis.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!