What are the 3 forms of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)?

Updated: Sep 09, 2021
  • Author: Maggie A Wilkes, MD; Chief Editor: Caroly Pataki, MD  more...
  • Print

Three basic forms of ADHD (ADD) are described in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5) of the American Psychiatric Association (APA). [1]  They are (1) predominantly inattentive, (2) predominantly hyperactive/impulsive, and (3) combined.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!