What is the pathophysiology of taste perception in taste disorders?

Updated: Jan 08, 2021
  • Author: Eric H Holbrook, MD; Chief Editor: Arlen D Meyers, MD, MBA  more...
  • Print


Five different taste qualities—salty, sweet, sour, bitter, and umami (monosodium glutamate/5' nucleotide)—have been identified. In addition, there is evidence that another taste perception exists, the ability to sense lipid content. Similar to odorant transmission, most tastes are mediated by various GPCRs. Sweet, umami, and bitter are detected by members of 2 GPCR families, taste 1 receptor family (TAS1R) and taste 2 receptor family (TAS2R). Lipid content is mediated by a free fatty acid receptor. In contrast, sour and salty are mainly mediated by ion channels. [9]

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!