What are the 2 zones of the tympanic membrane where perforations can occur?

Updated: Dec 14, 2020
  • Author: Robert A Saadi, MD; Chief Editor: Arlen D Meyers, MD, MBA  more...
  • Print

The tympanic membrane has two distinct zones. The larger of the two zones is the pars tensa. This zone consists of a tough and resilient fibrous layer with a diaphanous mucosal layer inside and squamous epithelium outside. The smaller zone is the pars flaccida, which lies superior to the suspensory ligaments of the malleus and lacks a fibrous layer.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!