What are the stages of iron toxicity?

Updated: Feb 04, 2019
  • Author: Clifford S Spanierman, MD; Chief Editor: Michael A Miller, MD  more...
  • Print

Iron poisoning is often classified into five distinct stages, as follows:

  • Stage 1 - Gastrointestinal (GI)

  • Stage 2 - Latent

  • Stage 3 - Metabolic/cardiovascular

  • Stage 4 - Hepatic

  • Stage 5 - Delayed

Understanding the course of poisoning is important. In particular, the second stage may lure the physician into a false sense of security and result in premature and inappropriate discharge of a patient.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!