Which types of fibrinolytic agents are used in thrombolytic therapy?

Updated: Aug 04, 2021
  • Author: Wanda L Rivera-Bou, MD, FAAEM, FACEP; Chief Editor: Erik D Schraga, MD  more...
  • Print


Fibrinolytic agents, sometimes referred to as plasminogen activators, are divided into the following two categories:

  • Fibrin-specific agents
  • Non–fibrin-specific agents

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!