How is hemophilia A classified?

Updated: Apr 08, 2020
  • Author: Douglass A Drelich, MD; Chief Editor: Srikanth Nagalla, MBBS, MS, FACP  more...
  • Print

Hemophilia is classified according to clinical severity as mild, moderate, or severe (see Table 1, below). Patients with severe disease usually have less than 1% factor VIII (FVIII) activity and experience spontaneous hemarthrosis and soft-tissue bleeding in the absence of apparent precipitating trauma. Patients with moderate disease have 1-5% FVIII activity and bleed with minimal trauma. Patients with mild hemophilia have more than 5% factor activity and bleed only after significant trauma or surgery.

Table 1. Hemophilia Severity, Factor Activity, and Hemorrhage Type (Open Table in a new window)


Factor Activity, %

Cause of Hemorrhage



Major trauma or surgery



Mild-to-moderate trauma


< 1


Direct the examination to identify signs related to spontaneous bleeding, or bleeding with minimal challenge, in the joints, muscles, and other soft tissues. Observe the patient's posture. Examine the weight-bearing joints, especially the knees and ankles, and, in general, the large joints for deformities or ankylosis. Look for jaundice and other signs of liver failure (eg, cirrhosis), and for signs of opportunistic infections in patients who are HIV positive.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!