How is thoracic non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL) staged?

Updated: Mar 05, 2019
  • Author: Ali Nawaz Khan, MBBS, FRCS, FRCP, FRCR; Chief Editor: Eugene C Lin, MD  more...
  • Print


Lymphomas are staged by using the Ann Arbor system, as follows:

  • Stage I - The tumor involves only 1 lymph node region, organ, or other site

  • Stage II - The tumor involves 2 or more lymph node regions on the same side of the diaphragm, an organ and lymph nodes in the same half of the body, or another site and lymph nodes in the same half

  • Stage III - The tumor involves lymph node regions and/or the spleen (and on both sides of the diaphragm): Stage III (1) - the tumors are above the renal vessels; Stage III (2) - the tumors are in the lower abdomen.

  • Stage IV - The tumor is extranodal, with diffuse involvement of nonlymphatic organs or tissues (eg, bone, marrow, lung, liver): Stage IV A - constitutional symptoms are absent; Stage IV B - constitutional symptoms are present

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!