What are the BI-RADS assessment categories based on mammogram findings?

Updated: Oct 17, 2016
  • Author: Nagwa Dongola, MD, FRCR; Chief Editor: Peter Eby, MD  more...
  • Print

BI-RADS assessment categories can be summarized as follows:

  • Category 0 - Need additional imaging evaluation

  • Category 1 - Negative

  • Category 2 - Benign finding, noncancerous

  • Category 3 - Probably benign finding, short-interval follow-up suggested

  • Category 4 - Suspicious abnormality, biopsy considered

  • Category 5 - Highly suggestive of malignancy, appropriate action needed

  • Category 6 - Known cancer, appropriate action should be taken

Category 0 is a temporary category that means additional imaging is needed before assigning a permanent BI-RADS assessment category. Most category 0 findings are shown to be benign after additional imaging is completed. This category is most often used when the radio9logist discovers something on a screening mammogram and wants to apply diagnostic views to make a decision.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!