How is ischemic stroke classified?

Updated: Nov 30, 2018
  • Author: Andrew Danziger; Chief Editor: L Gill Naul, MD  more...
  • Print

Ischemic strokes may be divided into 3 major subtypes, based on the TOAST classification system, adopted from the system of categorizing stroke developed in the multicenter Trial of Org 10172 in Acute Stroke Treatment. These include large artery infarction, small-vessel or lacunar infarction, and cardioembolic infarctions. [14, 15]

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!