How is the functional restoration algorithm for complex regional pain syndrome type 1 (CRPS 1) (RSD) implemented?

Updated: Mar 09, 2021
  • Author: T P Sudha Rao, MD; Chief Editor: Herbert S Diamond, MD  more...
  • Print

The functional restoration algorithm has four parts. Initial measures include the following:

  • Mirror visual feedback
  • Graded motor imagery
  • Reactivation
  • Contrast baths
  • Desensitization
  • Exposure therapy

The second phase of therapy includes the following:

  • Edema control
  • Flexibility (active)
  • Isometric strengthening
  • Correction of postural abnormalities
  • Diagnosis and treatment of secondary myofascial pain

The third phase of therapy includes the following:

  • Stress loading
  • Isotonic strengthening
  • Range of motion (gentle, passive)
  • General aerobic conditioning
  • Postural normalization and balanced use

The fourth phase of therapy includes the following:

  • Ergonomics
  • Movement therapies
  • Normalization of use
  • Vocational/functional rehabilitation

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!