What are nonarticular rheumatic pain syndromes?

Updated: Apr 04, 2018
  • Author: T P Sudha Rao, MD; Chief Editor: Herbert S Diamond, MD  more...
  • Print

Nonarticular rheumatic pain syndromes can be classified into five general categories, as follows:

  1. Tendonitis and bursitis, such as the common lateral epicondylitis (tennis elbow) and trochanteric bursitis
  2. Structural disorders, such as pain syndromes resulting from flatfoot and the hypermobility syndrome
  3. Neurovascular entrapment, such as carpal tunnel syndrome and thoracic outlet syndrome
  4. Regional myofascial pain syndromes, with trigger points similar to those of fibromyalgia but in a localized distribution, such as the temporomandibular joint syndrome
  5. Generalized pain syndromes, such as fibromyalgia (FMS) and multiple bursitis-tendonitis syndrome

The more generalized and chronic the syndrome, the more difficult it is to treat.

The spectrum of nonarticular pain syndromes and their interactions with mood disorders and chronic fatigue is depicted in the image below. Comorbidity is common. [1, 2]

The spectrum of nonarticular myofascial pain syndr The spectrum of nonarticular myofascial pain syndromes.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!