What are the American College of Rheumatology (ACR) classification criteria for Takayasu arteritis?

Updated: Nov 14, 2018
  • Author: Jefferson R Roberts, MD; Chief Editor: Herbert S Diamond, MD  more...
  • Print

The American College of Rheumatology has established classification criteria for Takayasu arteritis (3 of 6 criteria are necessary). The presence of any 3 or more criteria yields a sensitivity of 90.5% and a specificity of 97.8%. [25] The criteria are as follows:

  • Age of 40 years or younger at disease onset

  • Claudication of the extremities

  • Decreased pulsation of one or both brachial arteries

  • Difference of at least 10 mm Hg in systolic blood pressure between arms

  • Bruit over one or both subclavian arteries or the abdominal aorta

  • Arteriographic narrowing or occlusion of the entire aorta, its primary branches, or large arteries in the upper or lower extremities that is not due to arteriosclerosis, fibromuscular dysplasia, or other causes

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!