Who should be tested for rheumatoid arthritis (RA), according to ACR/EULAR criteria?

Updated: Mar 05, 2021
  • Author: Howard R Smith, MD; Chief Editor: Herbert S Diamond, MD  more...
  • Print

The 2010 American College of Rheumatology (ACR)/European League Against Rheumatism (EULAR) classification criteria for RA are designed to identify patients with unexplained inflammatory arthritis in at least 1 peripheral joint and a short duration of symptoms who would benefit from early therapeutic intervention. They represents a paradigm shift from the 1987 ACR criteria, which lacked the sensitivity to detect early RA. [1]

According to the ACR/EULAR criteria, patients who should be tested are those with at least 1 joint with definite clinical synovitis that is not better explained by another disease (eg, lupus, psoriatic arthritis, or gout). [1]

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!