What are the 4 functional classes of rheumatoid arthritis (RA)?

Updated: Feb 07, 2020
  • Author: Howard R Smith, MD; Chief Editor: Herbert S Diamond, MD  more...
  • Print

Patients with RA are categorized into 4 functional classes:

  • Class I – Completely able to perform usual activities of daily living

  • Class II – Able to perform usual self-care and vocational activities but limited in avocational activities

  • Class III – Able to perform usual self-care activities but limited in vocational and avocational activities

  • Class IV – Limited in ability to perform usual self-care, vocational, and avocational activities

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!