Who should be tested for rheumatoid arthritis (RA), according to 2010 ACR/EULAR criteria?

Updated: Feb 07, 2020
  • Author: Howard R Smith, MD; Chief Editor: Herbert S Diamond, MD  more...
  • Print

The 2010 ACR/EULAR classification criteria for RA are designed to identify patients with unexplained inflammatory arthritis in at least 1 peripheral joint and a short duration of symptoms who would benefit from early therapeutic intervention. They represents a paradigm shift from the 1987 ACR criteria, which lacked the sensitivity to detect early RA. [1]

According to the ACR/EULAR criteria, patients who should be tested are those (1) who have at least 1 joint with definite clinical synovitis and (2) whose synovitis is not better explained by another disease (eg, lupus, psoriatic arthritis, or gout).

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!