What are the diagnostic criteria for reactive arthritis (ReA)?

Updated: Dec 24, 2020
  • Author: Carlos J Lozada, MD; Chief Editor: Herbert S Diamond, MD  more...
  • Print

The classic triad of ReA—namely, arthritis, conjunctivitis, and noninfectious urethritis—occurs in only about one third of patients at onset. Less stringent diagnostic criteria from the American College of Rheumatology have specified a 1-month duration of arthritis in association with urethritis, cervicitis, or both.

It has been suggested, however, that the syndrome is better described as a triad consisting of arthritis, conjunctivitis or iridocyclitis, and nonbacterial urethritis or cervicitis. Some prefer to describe it as a tetrad, adding the mucocutaneous findings of balanitis circinata and keratoderma blennorrhagicum to the classic triad. In this view, the complete and incomplete forms of ReA can be identified by the presence or absence of the mucocutaneous involvement.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!