What are the three stages of osteoarthritis (OA) pathogenesis?

Updated: Oct 12, 2020
  • Author: Carlos J Lozada, MD; Chief Editor: Herbert S Diamond, MD  more...
  • Print

The etiopathogenesis of osteoarthritis has been divided into three stages, as follows:

  • Stage 1 – Proteolytic breakdown of the cartilage matrix occurs

  • Stage 2 – Fibrillation and erosion of the cartilage surface develop, with subsequent release of proteoglycan and collagen fragments into the synovial fluid

  • Stage 3 – Breakdown products of cartilage induce a chronic inflammatory response in the synovium, which in turn contributes to further cartilage breakdown

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!