How is lupus nephritis staged?

Updated: Mar 04, 2019
  • Author: Lawrence H Brent, MD; Chief Editor: Vecihi Batuman, MD, FASN  more...
  • Print

Lupus nephritis is staged according to the classification revised by the International Society of Nephrology (ISN) and the Renal Pathology Society (RPS) in 2003, as follows:

  • Class I – Minimal mesangial lupus nephritis

  • Class II – Mesangial proliferative lupus nephritis

  • Class III – Focal lupus nephritis (active and chronic; proliferative and sclerosing)

  • Class IV – Diffuse lupus nephritis (active and chronic; proliferative and sclerosing; segmental and global)

  • Class V – Membranous lupus nephritis

  • Class VI – Advanced sclerosis lupus nephritis

See Workup for more detail.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!