What are the DSM-5 criteria for the diagnosis the depressive episodes with catatonia?

Updated: Aug 06, 2020
  • Author: Jerry L Halverson, MD; Chief Editor: David Bienenfeld, MD  more...
  • Print

The DSM-5 criteria for diagnosis of depressive episodes with catatonia requires the presence of 3 or more of 12 psychomotor features during most of the episode: [2]

  • Stupor

  • Catalepsy

  • Waxy flexibility

  • Mutism

  • Negativism

  • Posturing

  • Mannerism

  • Stereotypy

  • Agitation, not influenced by external stimuli

  • Grimacing

  • Echolalia

  • Echopraxia

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!