How is the AJCC stage determined for renal cell carcinoma (RCC)?

Updated: Feb 19, 2021
  • Author: Kush Sachdeva, MD; Chief Editor: E Jason Abel, MD  more...
  • Print

The AJCC stages are as follows:

  • AJCC stage I – T1, N0, M0

  • AJCC stage II – T2, N0, M0

  • AJCC stage III – T1-2, N1, M0 or T3a-c, N0-1, M0

  • AJCC stage IV – T4; or any T, N2, M0; or any T, any N, M1

The division of patients with renal cell carcinoma into low-, intermediate-, and high-risk groups with or without metastases may be useful in choosing appropriate therapy for these individuals. [2, 17]

For more information, see Renal Cell Carcinoma Staging.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!