What is the TNM classification for renal cell carcinoma (RCC)?

Updated: Feb 19, 2021
  • Author: Kush Sachdeva, MD; Chief Editor: E Jason Abel, MD  more...
  • Print

The TNM classification is endorsed by the AJCC. The major advantage of this system is that it clearly differentiates individuals with tumor thrombi from those with local nodal disease. In the Robson system, stage III disease includes both inferior vena caval involvement (stage IIIA) and local lymph node metastases (stage IIIB). Although patients with Robson stage IIIB renal carcinoma have greatly decreased survival rates, the prognosis for patients with stage Robson IIIA renal carcinoma is not markedly different from that for patients with Robson stage I or II renal carcinoma. The TNM classification system is delineated below.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!