What are the stages of pancreatic cancer?

Updated: Mar 07, 2019
  • Author: Tomislav Dragovich, MD, PhD; Chief Editor: N Joseph Espat, MD, MS, FACS  more...
  • Print

Stage grouping for pancreatic cancer is as follows:

  • Stage 0 - Tis, N0, M0

  • Stage IA - T1, N0, M0

  • Stage IB - T2, N0, M0

  • Stage IIA - T3, N0, M0

  • Stage IIB - T1-3, N1, M0

  • Stage III - T4, Any N, M0

  • Stage IV - Any T, Any N, M1

At initial presentation, only 20% of patients present with stage I disease, 40% present with locally advanced disease, and 40% present with disease metastatic to nodes or distant sites.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!