What are the stages of bone and soft tissue angiosarcoma (AS)?

Updated: Dec 02, 2020
  • Author: Maria Belén Carsi, MD, PhD, FRCS; Chief Editor: Edwin Choy, MD, PhD  more...
  • Print

For bone and soft tissue sarcomas in adults, [7] the two most commonly used staging systems are those developed by the AJCC and by Enneking. In children, the Intergroup Rhabdomyosarcoma Study and the International Union Against Cancer describe the systems used most commonly. These systems for soft tissue sarcomas rely on an ability to determine accurately both the local and distant extent of disease. The stages are as follows:

  • Ia - Low grade, intracompartmental G1/T1/M0

  • Ib - Low grade, extracompartmental G1/T2/M0

  • IIa - High grade, intracompartmental G2/T1/M0

  • IIb - High grade, extracompartmental G2/T2/M0

  • IIIa - Low or high grade, intracompartmental G1-G2/T1/M1 with metastases

  • IIIb - Low or high grade, extracompartmental G1-2/T2/M1 with metastases

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!