What are the phases of eclampsia seizures?

Updated: Apr 18, 2019
  • Author: Michael G Ross, MD, MPH; Chief Editor: Ronald M Ramus, MD  more...
  • Print


Eclamptic seizures may be divided into 2 phases. Phase 1 lasts 15-20 seconds and begins with facial twitching. The body becomes rigid, leading to generalized muscular contractions.

Phase 2 lasts about 60 seconds. It starts in the jaw, moves to the muscles of the face and eyelids, and then spreads throughout the body. The muscles begin alternating between contracting and relaxing in rapid sequence.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!