Which countries have active Zika virus transmission?

Updated: Dec 11, 2018
  • Author: Bhagyashri D Navalkele, MD, MBBS; Chief Editor: Michael Stuart Bronze, MD  more...
  • Print

Zika virus was first described in a febrile rhesus monkey in the Zika forest of Entebbe, Uganda, and was reported in a human field worker shortly thereafter. [1] Currently, Zika virus is known to be widely distributed outside of Africa. Outbreaks have been described previously in Micronesia and French Polynesia. [4, 5]

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) currently lists the following countries as areas of active virus transmission: Aruba, Barbados, Bolivia, Bonaire, Brazil, Colombia, Commonwealth of Puerto Rico (US territory), Costa Rica, Cuba, Curacao, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Martinique, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Saint Martin, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sint Maarten, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, US Virgin Islands, Venezuela, American Samoa, Fiji, Kosrae (Federated States of Micronesia), Marshall Islands, New Caledonia, Samoa, Tonga, and Cape Verde.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!