What are the main types of cutaneous B-cell lymphomas (CBCL) of non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL)?

Updated: Jun 12, 2019
  • Author: Priyank P Patel, MD; Chief Editor: Emmanuel C Besa, MD  more...
  • Print


The NCCN and EORTC/ISCL guidelines recommend use of the WHO-EORTC classification for cutaneous B-cell lymphomas (CBCL), which distinguishes the following three main types [23] :

  • Primary cutaneous marginal zone lymphoma (PC-MZL)

  • Primary cutaneous follicle center cell lymphoma (PC-FCL)

  • Primary cutaneous diffuse large B-cell, leg type (PC-DLBCL, LT)

Of note, a germinal (or follicle) center phenotype and large cells in a skin lesion is not equivalent to diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL) but is consistent with primary cutaneous germinal/follicle center lymphoma.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!