How are soft tissue sarcoma (STS) graded?

Updated: Dec 03, 2020
  • Author: Steven C Katz, MD, FACS; Chief Editor: Edwin Choy, MD, PhD  more...
  • Print


The French Federation of Cancer Centers Sarcoma Group (FNCLCC) system [3] and the National Cancer Institute system are most commonly used for grading STS. [4] Both are three-grade systems. The FNCLCC is based on tumor differentiation, tumor necrosis, and mitotic activity, while the NCI system bases the evaluation on histology, location, and tumor necrosis. In comparison studies, the FNCLCC has shown slightly better ability to predict metastasis development and mortality.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!