How are enteroviruses classified?

Updated: Jul 16, 2019
  • Author: Rodrigo Hasbun, MD, MPH; Chief Editor: Michael Stuart Bronze, MD  more...
  • Print

The enteroviruses belong to the family Picornaviridae and are further classified as follows:

  • Poliovirus (3 serotypes)

  • Coxsackievirus A (23 serotypes)

  • Coxsackievirus B (6 serotypes)

  • Echovirus (31 serotypes)

  • Newly recognized enterovirus serotypes 68-71

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!