What are the Jones criteria for diagnosis of acute rheumatic fever (ARF)?

Updated: Apr 08, 2021
  • Author: Zartash Zafar Khan, MD, FACP; Chief Editor: Pranatharthi Haran Chandrasekar, MBBS, MD  more...
  • Print

The Jones criteria are used to diagnose rheumatic fever. The 5 major criteria consist of the following:

  • Carditis

  • Polyarthritis

  • Chorea

  • Erythema marginatum

  • Subcutaneous nodules

The minor criteria include the following:

  • Fever

  • Arthralgia

  • Elevated erythrocyte sedimentation rate or C-reactive protein level

  • Prolonged PR interval on electrocardiogram (ECG)

The presence of 2 major manifestations or of 1 major and 2 minor manifestations, supported by evidence of a preceding GAS infection by positive throat swab or culture results or by high serum ASO titers, strongly suggests ARF.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!