How are dysphagia diets classified?

Updated: Mar 20, 2020
  • Author: Nam-Jong Paik, MD, PhD; Chief Editor: Elizabeth A Moberg-Wolff, MD  more...
  • Print

The dysphagia diet can be classified according to viscosity, as follows:

  • level I: Pudding, crushed potato, and ground meat

  • level II: Curd-type yogurt, orange juice (mixed with 3% thickener), cream soup, and thin soup with starch

  • level III: Tomato juice, fluid-type yogurt, and thick, fluid rice

  • level IV: Water and orange juice

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!