What are the clinical scales for spasticity?

Updated: Jun 28, 2019
  • Author: Krupa Pandey, MD; Chief Editor: Stephen A Berman, MD, PhD, MBA  more...
  • Print

Spasticity is difficult to quantify, [3] but clinically useful scales include the following:

  • Ashworth Scale/Modified Ashworth: From 0-4 (normal to rigid tone)

  • Physician's Rating Scale: Gait pattern and range of motion assessed

  • Spasm Scale: From 0-4 (no spasms to >10/h)

See Workup for more detail.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!