What are the subclasses of calcium channel blockers (CCBs)?

Updated: Jan 04, 2021
  • Author: B Zane Horowitz, MD, FACMT; Chief Editor: Michael A Miller, MD  more...
  • Print

CCBs are divided into 3 subclasses. These classes and their effects are as follows [10] :

  • Phenylalkylamines: Affect the atrioventricular (AV) node and peripheral vasculature equally; verapamil is the only available agent in this class

  • Benzothiazines: More negative chronotropic effects than vasoactive; diltiazem is the only available agent in this class

  • Dihydropyridines: Primarily affect the peripheral vasculature, although cardiac toxicity may be observed in overdose; agents in this class are amlodipine, clevidipine, felodipine, isradipine, nicardipine, nifedipine, nimodipine, and nisoldipine

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!