What is the traditional workup for hypercalciuria?

Updated: Jun 02, 2021
  • Author: Stephen W Leslie, MD, FACS; Chief Editor: Vecihi Batuman, MD, FASN  more...
  • Print

In the traditional classification system, several distinct types of hypercalciuria exist, such as absorptive hypercalciuria types I, II, and III; renal leak hypercalciuria; and resorptive hypercalciuria. This classification system assumes that these hypercalciurias are separate and distinct entities that can and should be differentiated.

In clinical practice, these hypercalciuria types often overlap, and extensive testing to differentiate them is difficult, time consuming, and often clinically unnecessary, because such testing rarely affects therapy. In select cases in which a more extensive evaluation is necessary, the patient may benefit from a referral to a center with expertise in this area, but this is rarely required in routine clinical practice.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!