What is the Kurtzke Expanded Disability Status Scale (EDSS)?

Updated: Jul 12, 2021
  • Author: Stephen Kishner, MD, MHA; Chief Editor: Buck Christensen  more...
  • Print


The 10-point Kurtzke Expanded Disability Status Scale (EDSS) is the most widely accepted clinical disability scale. [1]

The EDSS is considered the standard for monitoring patients with multiple sclerosis (MS), including those in MS clinical research, although MS is difficult to assess because of the differences in signs and symptoms. [2, 3, 4, 5]

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!