Which staging system is used for the mycosis fungoides and Sézary syndrome types of cutaneous T-cell lymphoma (CTCL)?

Updated: Apr 20, 2020
  • Author: Lauren C Pinter-Brown, MD; Chief Editor: Emmanuel C Besa, MD  more...
  • Print

Although mycosis fungoides and Sézary syndrome are types of NHL, a different staging system is used, based on the particular skin findings and findings of extracutaneous disease, as follows:

  • Stage IA disease (as defined by the tumor, node, metastases blood [TNMB] system): Patchy or plaquelike skin disease involving less than 10% of skin surface area (T1 skin disease)

  • Stage IB: Patchy/plaquelike skin disease involving 10% or more of the skin surface area (T2 skin disease)

  • Stage IIB disease: Tumors are present (T3 skin lesions)

  • Stage III disease: Generalized erythroderma is present

  • Stage IVA1 disease: Erythroderma and significant blood involvement occur [6]

  • Stage IVA2 disease: Lymph node biopsy result shows total effacement by atypical cells (LN4 node) [6]

  • Stage IVB disease: Visceral involvement (eg, liver, lung, bone marrow) occurs

See Workup for more detail.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!