What are the stages of classic mycosis fungoides cutaneous T-cell lymphoma (CTCL)?

Updated: Apr 20, 2020
  • Author: Lauren C Pinter-Brown, MD; Chief Editor: Emmanuel C Besa, MD  more...
  • Print

The signs and symptoms of CTCL vary depending on the type. The two most common types are mycosis fungoides and Sézary syndrome.

Classic mycosis fungoides is divided into the following 3 stages:

  • Patch (atrophic or nonatrophic): Nonspecific dermatitis, patches on lower trunk and buttocks; minimal/absent pruritus

  • Plaque: Intensely pruritic plaques, lymphadenopathy

  • Tumor: Prone to ulceration

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!