What are the stages of chronic HIV disease?

Updated: Jan 02, 2020
  • Author: Robert J Carpenter, DO, FACP; Chief Editor: John Bartlett, MD  more...
  • Print


In most infected individuals, active virus replication and progressive immunologic impairment occur throughout the course of HIV infection, even during the clinically latent stage. Chronic HIV disease can be divided empirically based on the degree of immunodeficiency into the following stages:

  1. Early stage - CD4+ T-cell count >500/µL
  2. Intermediate stage - CD4+ T-cell count 200-500/µL
  3. Advanced stage - CD4+ T-cell count < 200/µL

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!