What is the CDC classification of HIV infection?

Updated: Jul 27, 2020
  • Author: Shelley A Gilroy, MD, FACP, FIDSA; Chief Editor: Michael Stuart Bronze, MD  more...
  • Print

The CDC classifies HIV infection into 3 categories, according to the presence of certain infections or diseases. [10] These conditions may be exacerbated by the HIV infection or represent true opportunistic infections.

Category A is asymptomatic HIV infection without a history of symptoms or AIDS-defining conditions.

Category B is HIV infection with symptoms that are directly attributable to HIV infection (or a defect in T-cell–mediated immunity) or that are complicated by HIV infection. These include, but are not limited to, the following:

Category C is HIV infection with AIDS-defining opportunistic infections, as outlined in Pathophysiology.

These 3 categories are further subdivided based on the CD4+ T-cell count. Categories A1, B1, and C1 are characterized by CD4+ T-cell counts greater than 500/µL. Categories A2, B2, and C2 are characterized by CD4+ T-cell counts between 200/µL and 400/µL. HIV infections in patient with CD4+ T-cell counts under 200/µL are designated as A3, B3, or C3.

Did this answer your question?
Additional feedback? (Optional)
Thank you for your feedback!